Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium Edition 11

22 juni 2022 - By DFF

MAISON the FAUX, the label of designers Joris Suk and Tessa de Boer is the recipient of the Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium Edition 11! The Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium is organized by the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds and the Dutch Fashion Foundation and consists of a financial incentive of €50.000 euro, made available by an anonymous benefactor, and a passed-on trophy designed by Atelier Ted Noten.

The Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium Edition 11 was celebrated on Wednesday June 22nd 2022 in the Hermitage Amsterdam and could also be viewed online through a live stream on the website of the Dutch Fashion Foundation.

The Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium for exceptionally talented and established Dutch fashion designers was initiated in 2011 by an anonymous benefactor and the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds. The recipients of the 11th edition Joris Suk and Tessa the Boer were interviewed by American video blogger and fashion critic Bliss Foster and gave a presentation which immersed the audience in the universe of MAISON the FAUX. Fashion designer Claes Iversen, the recipient of the 10th Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium passed on the trophy which contained a special message only meant for the eyes of the recipients.

“The recipient is a true freedom fighter, overthrowing the exclusivity mindset and replacing it with ‘friendly anarchy’. The work presents to every human the freedom to discover who they are or want to be through fashion.” the jury of the Cultuurfonds Mode Stipedium said about the receiver of the 11th Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium MAISON the FAUX, the label of designers Joris Suk and Tessa de Boer. View the whole Jury report.

The Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium positions itself as a subsidy and an oeuvre-award. It is the most prestigious recognition a fashion designer can receive within the contemporary Dutch fashion field. The stipendium enables the designer to make the necessary steps for the further development and growth of the label.

Previous recipients of the Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium are Dutch fashion designers Ilja Visser (2011), Francisco van Benthum (2012), Truus en Riet Spijkers (2013), Jan Taminiau (2014), Youasme Measyou (2015), Iris van Herpen (2016), Ronald van der Kemp (2017), Bas Kosters (2018), Erik Frenken (2019) and Claes Iversen (2021).

MAISON the FAUX Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium Edition 11 GIF-image by @studioultradeluxe
photography by @teampeterstigter@jordanmillington and @maisonthefaux

All event images by RVDA – Reinier van der Aart

Partners of the Cultuurfonds Mode Stipendium Edition 11